New bike - couple of questions

Forum rules
Please can you post items for sale or wanted in the correct For Sale section. Items / bikes for sale here will be removed without warning. Reasons for this are in the FAQ. Thanks
castrol101
Settled in member
Reactions:
New bike - couple of questions

Post by castrol101 » Sat Sep 06, 2008 11:09 pm

Just bought a zxr and just have a couple of questions/queries :)

1 - the bike runs fine etc but when the choke is put on it dies, and the idle screw is turned right in (probably so it'l start cold) So what is the routing of the choke cable and how is it attatched to the carbs

2 - Are the clutch plates easy to change, i have never done a clutch before, and i think these friction plates may be wearing a little thin.

zimm
Familiar Member
Reactions:
Bike owned: some ZXR400's, ty175, mz ts125
Re: New bike - couple of questions

Post by zimm » Sun Sep 07, 2008 12:22 am

welcome to the err .. green side :)

L or H ?

pics ?

wouldnt worry too much about the choke, they normally dont need it unless its VERY cold.. tend to be a bit rich at the bottom end as stock.

choke cable attaches at the front side of the carbs and pulls an arm that operates the plungers on the carbs, tank and airbox off and its self explanatory

idle screw should only be holding the throttle cam open about 2mm .. whats it idling at ?

clutch is a piece of piss,

cover off

undo 4 bolts in centre of clutch
remove front plate
slide out friction and steel plates
put in new ones ..

soak them in oil for a few hours before fitting or it'll slip for a bit

if you think they need doing cos its a bit rattly and the noise goes away when you pull the clutch in .. its um .. just because its a kawasaki.. they all do it.

pics ?

castrol101
Settled in member
Reactions:

Post by castrol101 » Sun Sep 07, 2008 9:49 am

Cheers zimm. I've been checking out the zxr400 owners forum too, noticed your on there...worth joining you think??