How to fit the 600 into the 3tj

Forum rules
Please can you post items for sale or wanted in the correct For Sale section. Items / bikes for sale here will be removed without warning. Reasons for this are in the FAQ. Thanks
yamtastic
Settled in member
Reactions:
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon May 13, 2013 6:54 pm
Bike owned: 3tjTrackbike, TRX850,YZF1000R
Re: How to fit the 600 into the 3tj

Post by yamtastic » Sun May 19, 2013 9:30 pm

the flywheel ?
so i can use the thin lightened one of the 400? what about the pick ups?

Evilchicken0
Site Supporter
Site Supporter
Reactions:
Posts: 9332
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 8:59 pm
Bike owned: Bimota SB6 Yamaha FZR 3TJ x2
Location: Lundin Taan
Re: How to fit the 600 into the 3tj

Post by Evilchicken0 » Sun May 19, 2013 10:30 pm

Don't quote me - they're similar.

You can run a 600 from the 400 CDI, the bottom cases are (almost) the same the top end gives more cc .... so I'd say the timing is going to similar too. The engines fire the pick up from the flywheel. Try it, it will either work or it won't.
Set the engine at TDC with the 600 flywheel mark the positions on the casing then take it off and offer the 400 up.

User avatar
ibby4585
Site Supporter
Site Supporter
Reactions:
Posts: 4782
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 1:42 pm
Bike owned: SP's
Location: oxfordshire
Re: How to fit the 600 into the 3tj

Post by ibby4585 » Sun May 19, 2013 11:43 pm

Anyone got any performance figures of doing the hybrid engine swap?

Evilchicken0
Site Supporter
Site Supporter
Reactions:
Posts: 9332
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 8:59 pm
Bike owned: Bimota SB6 Yamaha FZR 3TJ x2
Location: Lundin Taan
Re: How to fit the 600 into the 3tj

Post by Evilchicken0 » Mon May 20, 2013 9:22 am

Well you go from around 55-60 bhp on the 400 to around 90 for the 600. Obviously engines vary and I'd expect a slight difference using a T'Cat due the the bores being nikasil'd. Most of the difference will be in the airbox. The 600 (on paper) should be slightlly slower to pick up but with more low and midrange it should be more forgiving and with ultimately more horse power there should be a higher top speed deepending on the gearing of course.

yamtastic
Settled in member
Reactions:
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon May 13, 2013 6:54 pm
Bike owned: 3tjTrackbike, TRX850,YZF1000R
Re: How to fit the 600 into the 3tj

Post by yamtastic » Mon May 20, 2013 9:22 am

Evilchicken0 wrote:Don't quote me - they're similar.

You can run a 600 from the 400 CDI, the bottom cases are (almost) the same the top end gives more cc .... so I'd say the timing is going to similar too. The engines fire the pick up from the flywheel. Try it, it will either work or it won't.
Set the engine at TDC with the 600 flywheel mark the positions on the casing then take it off and offer the 400 up.

having a look at the model specs i can't see using the same CDI and flywheel working as the stroke is different, the 400 is 40.5, and the 600 is 49.6

User avatar
ibby4585
Site Supporter
Site Supporter
Reactions:
Posts: 4782
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 1:42 pm
Bike owned: SP's
Location: oxfordshire
Re: How to fit the 600 into the 3tj

Post by ibby4585 » Mon May 20, 2013 9:47 am

So a 95' fzr600r motor is slightly different to the later Thundercat motor? What are the differences?

User avatar
Kayla850
NWAA Supporter
NWAA Supporter
Reactions:
Posts: 1170
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2010 6:30 pm
Bike owned: Sunn Tzar S2
Location: County Durham
Re: How to fit the 600 into the 3tj

Post by Kayla850 » Mon May 20, 2013 11:50 am

ibby4585 wrote:So a 95' fzr600r motor is slightly different to the later Thundercat motor? What are the differences?
The Thundercat engine has nikasil bores so is slightly lighter and it make slightly more power, although that might be down to the Thundercat having some kind of ram air set up. There's probably not a huge amount in it really other than bike meet BS.

They're great bikes but not necessarily better than a 400 for outright fun. That said, I do love mine again :grin:
Useful project bike parts and stuff and things-

www.projection-racing.com

Titanium and Aluminium nuts & bolts-

www.pjcfasteners.com

J_oram
Settled in member
Reactions:
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 5:31 pm
Re: How to fit the 600 into the 3tj

Post by J_oram » Wed Oct 16, 2013 1:17 pm

Hi there, I ride some km with my FZR400 hybrid 600.. But is bothering me that the tacho revs to 8k and then back to 0. I read this bit: If you don't mod the fuel sender wires, then the tacho will jump to 8k revs as part of the in built 4JH diagnostics. The mod is really easy.

It said it is really easy, but how does it work? I can't find it. Thanks in advance :peace:

The first start of the FZR400/600 long time ago: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_xTRWxvwrKo And a race in Assen (Dutch circuit) but that is still with the 400 engine: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jf9fvhr8 ... tore-BxrQ_

Yamahafreak
Settled in member
Reactions:
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2014 1:50 pm
Re: How to fit the 600 into the 3tj

Post by Yamahafreak » Tue Mar 11, 2014 11:00 am

hy, I am working on a 3tj hybrid, getting a 4JH engine and 4TV cable-loom to go with the TPS,.
engine fits good no problems with alignment of the sprockets,

I was just wondering what size sprockets i should use.
I heard I should use 15F 39R and a 530 chain , what will this do with the performance and why shouldn't I go with the 15F 45R as standard on the 600R?

I am going to use and modify a early R6 exhaust that I bought really cheap

These are actually that last 2 things left to do on this hybrid project build on a budget, as it is taking me now almost 2 years to complete.

Bad thing is I won't be able to drive it at least another 4 months as I am going in to surgery in 10 day's :down:

Evilchicken0
Site Supporter
Site Supporter
Reactions:
Posts: 9332
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 8:59 pm
Bike owned: Bimota SB6 Yamaha FZR 3TJ x2
Location: Lundin Taan
Re: How to fit the 600 into the 3tj

Post by Evilchicken0 » Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:36 pm

Why not just fit the original 600 gearing / chain specification ? I'd go with a 620 chain, it's a common size and I think the 630 will be heavier ???
The cylinder spacings are different on the R6 pipe You need to cut and reweld it a bit and redo the ballance pipes

Hope the surgerry goes well ... those double D's will take a bit of getting used too :grin: :grin:


Post Reply

Return to “FZR - Workshop”