A few issues (clutch, choke)

Forum rules
Please can you post items for sale or wanted in the correct For Sale section. Items / bikes for sale here will be removed without warning. Reasons for this are in the FAQ. Thanks
cooperman
Settled in member
Reactions:
A few issues (clutch, choke)

Post by cooperman » Fri Apr 12, 2019 8:40 am

I'm new to the CB400 scene but have picked up a lovely NC31 Super Four which I do plan on spending the next year getting together.

Before I collected it, I got new c&s, tyres and an oil and air filter change. This just seems standard for me before I get a bike but after driving it today about 40km I have noticed a few annoyances.

Clutch lever is super loose. I know that for most mechanisms, within the lever there is a rubber/plastic bushing. This seems to have perished. Any ideas where I can buy a 'service' kit for the lever or if I buy new levers will it have everything I need?

Grips are loose. I can perhaps 'stick' them but I'd rather replace. Any suggestions on good aftermarket grips?

My speedo is not working. I have checked the connections and they are fine so it's either in the clocks or in the cable. I'll spend some time looking at the weekend but I also see a lot of people with lovely new chrome backed clocks on the forum. Are these aftermarket? Where do you get them?

Final annoyance is the choke is sticking. I am going to disassemble and take a look but I've had classic cars for years so very used to the annoyances of trying to get a smooth choke with the perfect idle!!

Loving the bike, loving this forum just hoping people can poiint me in the right direction for a few things

bludclot
Settled in member
Reactions:
Bike owned: FZS1000 - ivanised / modified
Re: A few issues (clutch, choke)

Post by bludclot » Tue Apr 16, 2019 7:19 am