Starting problems and petcock leaking cb400 SF project big 1

Forum rules
Please can you post items for sale or wanted in the correct For Sale section. Items / bikes for sale here will be removed without warning. Reasons for this are in the FAQ. Thanks
mykel49
Settled in member
Reactions:
Bike owned: CB400SF&BMW G650 X Country
Starting problems and petcock leaking cb400 SF project big 1

Post by mykel49 » Tue Mar 17, 2015 12:42 pm

Hi,I'm a newbee and here this is my first post. I have just bought a cb 400 super four project big 1jap import. It is an N registered bike here in uk, with very little miles. It has sat without starting for at least two years. I charged battery fully and tried to start however nothing happened, not even a click. The headlight did however light up and engine did not turn over. I'm new to bikes so do not have any idea other than thinking maybe starter not working, or serious ignition issue.

So what am I doing wrong, I had both centre and side stand up, neutral, and pulled in clutch lever in case this was the problem.

UPDATE :

I managed to solve the initial problem. the battery was fine once charged fully and is holding charge. The issue was not the battery but the kill switch, I sprayed some WD 40 lubricating spray and it now turns over really well, but still didn't start. So I took out the plugs which were back, Cleaned them and re-gapped them, and sprayed lots of WD 40 down before putting plugs back in. I also put into top gear and manually moved back and forward incase engine seized. I also put some clean fuel in, check air filter which looked ok, and then tried to start her.