NC 30 dry clutch and several other trick bits

Forum rules
Please can you post items for sale or wanted in the correct For Sale section. Items / bikes for sale here will be removed without warning. Reasons for this are in the FAQ. Thanks
mathatch
Settled in member
Reactions:
Bike owned: NC30 Race NC30 Road
NC 30 dry clutch and several other trick bits

Post by mathatch » Tue Jun 21, 2016 11:05 pm

where to start?
i have been working on my NC30 race project for a few years now, i decided to make a dry clutch for it mainly because i can :grin: it is not yet completed but 80% of the way there. so some picys.
Image[/URL]
Image[/URL]
this is the solidworks drawing i started, with the tricky part being the cover, most of the other components are modified standard clutch parts. i planned to make the cover in carbon fibre. to start you have to make a plug (a male of what you want) this is made on the CNC machine at work (quite handy to just have one of those to play with :P )
Image[/URL]
Image[/URL]
once the plug is machined it is lightly sanded with VERY fine emery paper and given many coats of a sealing agent and then a release agent. once it is sealed and released a fibre glass mould is taken.
Image[/URL] the mould with the aluminium inserts which will be put in with the carbon and be bonded together. this is as far as i have got with the cover, hopefully more progress on that soon :)

mathatch
Settled in member
Reactions:
Re: NC 30 dry clutch and several other trick bits

Post by mathatch » Tue Jun 21, 2016 11:28 pm

now for some of the other clutch parts.
i was going to use an NC24 clutch basket as this was going to make my life easier. but i decided that if i was going to go through all this time and effort i might as well keep the slipper clutch and do a proper job.
all i had to do to the primary drive gear was drill and tap holes to bolt the outer basket to it with.